Only way to disable this is to open about:config and change some value. Why this has no dismiss button?
There is couple more settings that are on by default and i hate those; but mostly those are subjective. However who wants 80px long “SIGN IN SO WE STORE YOUR BOOKMARKS, HISTORY IN OUR SERVERS” stuff on their screen?


Urgh, I was considering setting up a self hosted Firefox sync. I don’t use syncing at all currently but thought it might be useful.
I didn’t know the account system was a separate dependency. Hosting that seems a bit of burden so I think I will just stay not using sync.
I use syncing through Mozilla’s servers. Part of what killed my motivation for a self hosted setup was realizing that Mozilla sync is e2ee.